We Stand On Guard For Thee

Oh Canada

Oh Canada

Barbara Winters is the person who spoke to Cpl. Nathan Cirillo as he lay dying by the War Memorial in Ottawa. While others fought to save his physical life, she soothed his spirit.

She told him over and over that he was loved.  In interview, she said “I assumed that was true.”  Nobody doubts it.

After all the events of this week, this is how I feel about Canada.  Canada, you are loved.

My country strikes a deep chord within me.  I don’t have to chant CA-NA-DA!  over and over. I don’t need a flag to wave.  I don’t pledge anything to Canada.  I wouldn’t want to live anywhere else.

We really are glorious and free.

I haven’t heard hatred or vitriol this week.  People are subdued, sombre.  Voices are worrying about the forces that corrupt young people to such ends.

The impetus of Ms. Winters to fill Cpl. Cirillo’s last moments with reassurances of love, to me, represents the best of the Canadian spirit.  Not revenge at all, but  comfort and humanitarian aid.  An emotional coming-together – eyes meet eyes and they know.

Oh, Canada, we stand on guard for thee.

Leave a comment