Talitha koom!

“So, I understand you think you are Jesus?” asked the ever so condescending doctor.

“No,” I replied patiently. “Of course not. I am one of the apostles.”

“Which one?”

“How should I know? But I guess it’s not Peter if I’m not denying it.”

“But, you’re a woman.”

“Your point being?”

“The apostles were men.”

“First of all, you have no proof of that. A lot of females in history end up being recorded as men. Secondly, if I am a reincarnation I am obviously not in the same physical body as I was then, am I?”

“So you are a reincarnation?”

“Isn’t everybody?”

“I don’t know”

“So if you don’t know, then how do you know whether or not I am a reincarnation of one of the apostles?”

“It’s not whether I believe or not. It’s what you believe. Are you a reincarnation of one of the apostles?”

“Yes,” I replied slowly. “And is that a problem for you?”

“I think it is a problem for you.”

“Well I guess it was a problem the first time around as well.”

“How do you mean?”

“Well you know how the story ends.”

“I would think being an apostle would be a good and honourable life, isn’t that why you chose it?” 

“First of all, I didn’t choose it that time, and I didn’t choose it this time. Second, yeah good and honourable doesn’t translate into easy.”

“Are you one of the apostles that wrote one of the gospels?”

“You mean the ones that got published.”

“What do you mean?”

“Matthew and John got published. It doesn’t mean the rest of us didn’t write the story down as well. And some would dispute the identities of the twelve or if you stop at the twelve when naming the apostles.”

“Who would dispute that?”

“Some. People that were there.”

“And you were there?”

“Apparently.”

“But you’re not Matthew or John?”

“Well I don’t know really.”

“You don’t know?”

“Listen, do you think it’s really important I put the right tag on this?”

“Well, I guess if I was an apostle, I would want to know which one.”

“Are you?”

“Am I what?”

“Are you an apostle?”

“No, no, I don’t think so.”

“Then, I guess it doesn’t really matter, then does it.”

“But it matters to you.”

“Life matters to me. The life you get is the life you live. And the life I was given this time around appears to be at least the second time I have been given this gift.”

“Isn’t that contrary to the Christian doctrine?”

“Listen, I don’t make the rules, okay?”

“And what are the rules?”

“Same as last time. Love one another. Love God.”

“But what about heaven and everlasting life?”

“I’m here aren’t I?”

“What do you mean?”

“Life everlasting. Whether God chooses to put you back in human form or not.”

“God chose this for you?”

“Well, duh!”

“What do you mean?”

“God chooses for all of us.”

“Has God chosen my life for me as well?”

“Shrink? Sure he chose Judas and Pilate and Herods I and II. He chose the Roman guards. He chose the mobs. He chose Barrabas. He chose the chosen.”

“So which am I?”

“What do YOU mean?”

“Do you see me as Judas? Maybe a Roman guard?”

“Listen, I don’t really think it matters. But if you were Judas I think you’d know about it.”

“How so?”

“Well, just, on the level of knowing.”

“The level of knowing?”

“Must you answer every question with a question?”

“Do I do that?”

“Are you Jewish?”

“Does it matter?”

“Just tell me.”

“Yes, yes I am.”

“The level of knowing. You know, when you just know something about yourself or the world with all the fiber of your being. With your intellectual conscious mind and your base instinct and your primary brain and things long forgotten. Knowing without learning.”

“Knowing without learning?”

“Listen, I really don’t want to be rude. But is this going anywhere?”

“What do you mean?”

“Is there a point to all this? Are you locking me up, letting me out? Is there a point to this interview, or interrogation, or..”

“You’re free to leave this office at any time. But I am afraid for now, you will have to remain on the ward”

3 thoughts on “Talitha koom!

  1. I now understand a lot more about Jesus and now know a bit about TK and what they r doing. That is incredible in of itself. I will be sure to keep them in mind. The discussion between the shrink and his patient has just become obvious to me and what I believe. I’m not sure of everything but I’m still growing as a spiritual person and I know I will continue to grow. I think it’s very cool that the patient is a woman and that makes perfect sense to me. Thanks for knowledge and opening my eyes.

    Like

  2. This is good. Is it new, or, have you just found it again? it’s been some time since I’ve seen anything to do with this story. which, I must say, is my favourite :-)))))

    How is your hand? Mike was off with an infected root canal last week…… Sucks to be him. But, what a week!!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

